MiniInTheBox Review

1 Total Score
MiniInTheBox Review: Is it Legit, Reliable or a Scam?

MiniInTheBox is a discount, flash sale retailer that has a very poor reputation and should be avoided at all costs. The site has an F rating with the Better Business Bureau for a pattern of not delivering items and not providing refunds. We strongly recommend buying from trustworthy stores such as AliExpress, DressLinkGearBest, LightInTheBox and Choies.

1Expert Score
Reliability
1
Shipping
2
Customer Service
1.5
Hidden Fees
7
Prices
9
Item Selection
8
1.3User's score
Reliability
0.6
Shipping
0.8
Customer Service
0.9
Hidden Fees
2.1
Prices
2.8
Item Selection
1
Add your review  |  Read reviews and comments

Pros:

There aren't any pros to list because of the poor reputation of MiniInTheBox. This is a scam, unreliable, not trustworthy, not reliable site that should be avoided if possible.

Cons:

Directly from the Better Business Bureau website:

PATTERN OF COMPLAINT

On May 7, 2015, BBB recognized a pattern of complaints from consumers regarding delivery and refund issues. Consumers allege after ordering and paying for products from MiniInTheBox, they receive a delivery date and a tracking number. However, consumers claim the tracking number does not work or does not indicate delivery progress. Consumers further allege the delivery date passes but the products are not received. Some consumers claim to receive the delivery, but allege the products are defective or incorrect.

According to complaints, MiniInTheBox states a refund will be processed back to the consumer’s original form of payment. However, consumers allege they do not receive a refund. When attempting to contact MiniInTheBox for assistance, consumers claim the company is provides only generic responses or is completely unresponsive.

On May 27, 2015, BBB notified the company of the complaint pattern. To date, the company has not responded to BBB's request to address the pattern.Delivery can sometimes take as long as one month so if you're in a rush to get something this is definitely not the site for you.”

Alternatives:

Popular alternatives to MiniInTheBox include AliExpress, DressLink, EverBuying, LightInTheBox and Choies.

58 Comments
Show all Most Helpful Highest Rating Lowest Rating Add your review
  1. 0.75
    Reliability
    0
    Shipping
    0
    Customer Service
    0
    Hidden Fees
    0
    Prices
    90
    Item Selection
    0

    Ordered 2 items on Jan 26..took out of my account have not received items yet and its Feb 19????

    Helpful(1) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  2. A COMPLETE SCAM – DO NOT USE.

  3. I ordered 2 watch bands over 1 month ago and I havn’t received anything.

  4. Rip off additional fees almost equal to item’s cost. Complete SCAM.

  5. 0.5
    Reliability
    10
    Shipping
    10
    Customer Service
    10
    Hidden Fees
    10
    Prices
    10
    Item Selection
    10

    NEVER EVER USE MINI IN THE BOX THEY ARE A SCAM COMPANY. YOU WILL NEVER RECEIVE YOUR PRODUCT AND THEY WILL GIVE YOU NO REFUND

    + PROS: Absolutely None. Scam Company. NEVER USE
    - CONS: Scam company. Purchased item, then they stalked me for 2 months, then they said my address didn’t exist and my order had been abandoned and no refund. All lies. All a con. NEVER EVER USE!!! Customer Services can’t write in correct English and most of the responses are standard ones.
    Helpful(1) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  6. 0.5
    Reliability
    0
    Shipping
    0
    Customer Service
    0
    Hidden Fees
    0
    Prices
    50
    Item Selection
    10

    They got our money and we never got our order.

    + PROS: They got our money and we never got our product.
    - CONS: We found out the were in China and the article where I purchased said my product was made and shipped in the USA
    Helpful(1) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  7. 0.8
    Reliability
    10
    Shipping
    0
    Customer Service
    30
    Hidden Fees
    0
    Prices
    60
    Item Selection
    0

    Totally agree,
    I made a order for cellular lens (2004180831123421) one. They did not accept payment. So I tryed again…did not accept again. 2 days later, they charged me twice. After asking for a cancellation (the order twice option seems to be popular), they credited one order (no refund). I ordered on April 18, it finally has been ”sent” on the 21..Since I ordered it express 4-7 days, I tought it was going to be faster. On April 27, no news. I send a message. The next day, they tell me it is a 7-10 days business service!! On May 2, still no news, even on Canada post system. So I write a second ticket. Still no news, but on May 5, the tracking number appears with the mention: Electronic information submitted by shipper. Meaning that they might ship it sometimes this week. I now expect the multi languages bot special manager Fabio to give me some other lies. cheaters! net step, writing to Consumer protection service.

    + PROS: Price
    - CONS: no refund poor shipping service
    Helpful(1) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  8. 1.3
    Reliability
    10
    Shipping
    10
    Customer Service
    10
    Hidden Fees
    40
    Prices
    40
    Item Selection
    50

    Appalling Company, avoid. I ordered a simple IPhone case and they are now expecting me to wait 3 months. Outrageous. Every time I contact them I just get the same response, not our fault it is in transit.
    Total rubbish company.

    + PROS: Nothing I can think of. Good selection is no good if you have to wait 3months to get it
    - CONS: Customer service Contacting General service
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  9. 0.15
    Reliability
    0
    Shipping
    0
    Customer Service
    0
    Hidden Fees
    0
    Prices
    20
    Item Selection
    0

    Light in the box is not much better and may well be the same company.
    I wouldnt be recommending them

    + PROS: None
    - CONS: Yes they are cons
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  10. 1.5
    Reliability
    10
    Shipping
    10
    Customer Service
    20
    Hidden Fees
    20
    Prices
    60
    Item Selection
    60

    I put in an order for two shirts in January 2020. I was initially told the order will take 10-15 days to arrive. On the 20th day on February 12th, I sent in an email to inquire why I still haven’t received the order. I got a response saying the items had not arrived at their warehouse yet (I presume it’s a transit warehouse) for it to be transited to me. I gave in the benefit of doubt and hoped it would come in within the shortest possible time from thence. Ever since that communication, it has been a back and forth correspondence always getting one excuse or the other with no damn result.
    I requested that if they’re finding it so difficult to get me the shirts I ordered, then they should do the honest thing and refund me my money. Up until now, four months down the line, they still haven’t done shit. As a matter of fact, I am highly disappointed. It is one of the most unreliable online retailers I’ve ever encountered in my entire life. ’miniinthebox’ is such a scam company and I entreat people to stay from the company them.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  11. Thank you the information extremely appreciated, the low price of products compared to others with the same products made me wonder about the company, note I love a discount but a flag went up concerning their prices on the leather products, now I know why again Thank You for the heads up and buyers be ware infro.

  12. I have tried to call them via email regarding my delivery which says I have no order am concerned because they have taken my money think that I have been ripped off don’t know what to do???

  13. Payment taken!! No confirmation e-mail. No detail of order sent so no way of chasing it. No items ever received. No contact number/e-mail only FQ’s.

  14. DONT ORDER!
    Shipping said 7-10 business days. I have not received my item and they are asking me to wait 2 MONTHS!!!!

  15. Order was not received.
    Emails ignored.
    No chance of a refund.

  16. Ordered goods.. They took money.. No contact from them since.. Cannot log in to them as says my email n password does not exist… So upset

  17. Ordered stuff for my wife, no email from them, even though there was supposed to be an order confirmation within 24 hours. That was a week ago now, finally lost patience and contacted the credit card company to report them and get my money back.

  18. 0.4
    Reliability
    10
    Shipping
    10
    Customer Service
    10
    Hidden Fees
    10
    Prices
    10
    Item Selection
    0

    3 months and I’ve not received my order and all my requests have been ignored.

    + PROS: No pros
    - CONS: Total con, a scam
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  19. Whete is my order

  20. 0.4
    Reliability
    10
    Shipping
    0
    Customer Service
    10
    Hidden Fees
    10
    Prices
    10
    Item Selection
    10

    Miniinthebox is a total scam. They do not reply to requests for refunds. If you receive the wrong goods then they do not provide a reasonable and workable mthod to return items. Give this organisation a very wide berth.

    + PROS: None
    - CONS: Everything that is wrong. A complete scam.
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  21. Reply
    Helen Papachristos
    June 10, 2020 at 2:13 pm

    Terrible company – it’s just a front for cheating people out of their money. Have waited 3 months, requested a refund several times and just keep getting fobbed off. I wish they could be prosecuted by somebody.

  22. I have the exact same problem with this company. After ordering and paying for my order from MiniInTheBox, I have received a delivery date and a tracking number. However, the tracking number does not work and does not indicate delivery progress. I contacted the courier service to ask regarding the tracking number and it turns out that the tracking number is not in their system – the alleged claimed package is not in their system! I still waited for my order until the date my order supposed to be delivered and there have been no notification regarding any parcel whatsoever. I then contacted the customer service and suprisingly, they claimed that there have been some problem with my address and asked me to wait for another few weeks. I waited and finally received no news from them. I contacted them again only to be informed that the parcel is on its way to their warehouse and they claimed I did not pick up the parcel so they will resend it again but I have to pay for the shipment again. It is the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard. I asked for a refund but they reply my message with a repeated exact message stating they will resend and I have to pay for the shipment again. This website is clearly operated by dishonest people who tried to illegally make money and trick others. I strongly recommend others not to order anything from this website and look for a more trusted seller.

  23. 1
    Reliability
    20
    Shipping
    60
    Customer Service
    20
    Hidden Fees
    0
    Prices
    10
    Item Selection
    10

    I ordered pearl barcelet watch for women and I got barcelet watch but not similar which 1 showing in website

    + PROS: No customer service, doggy website
    Helpful(5) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  24. 0.25
    Reliability
    10
    Shipping
    10
    Customer Service
    10
    Hidden Fees
    0
    Prices
    0
    Item Selection
    0

    Cheaters, looters, don’t buy anything, I am going to make a fraud complaints

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  25. Cheaters, Fraud company don’t order anything, you will loose your money.

  26. very dishonest company. They want you to pay for return while it was never mentioned in the return policy. bad quality Products. You might think they are based in the USA which they are all the way in china. The government needs to close their access to customer who are use to deal with reliable companies.

  27. 1.55
    Reliability
    10
    Shipping
    10
    Customer Service
    10
    Hidden Fees
    70
    Prices
    70
    Item Selection
    20

    Ordered a fitbit watch band in March and never arrived. No accountability, dismissing refund request over ‘give it more time to arrive’. Absolute scam.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  28. ordered products and did not recive.

  29. Very bad service! Never receive the items paid for and also no way to contact customer service!!!!

    How can I get my money?

    Will never use it again and advise everybody to do so : avoid them!!!!

  30. 0.05
    Reliability
    0
    Shipping
    0
    Customer Service
    10
    Hidden Fees
    0
    Prices
    0
    Item Selection
    0

    I would give to this vendor is zero star … if you’re thinking of purchasing an item from them DON’T! Totally unreliable, cheats, unprofessional!!! I had originally given them a bad rating but they assured me of being trustworthy. After waiting for over 5 weeks, I have not received the item purchased and they now confess that delivery may take over 3 months!!! I will be lodging a complaint to my local Consumer Association of fraudulent and misleading advertisement.
    My advice is DON’T purchase anything from this vendor.

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  31. The delivery took over a month. When it did arrive it was the wrong item. Have bee blocked on their App so there is no way to contact them. This website should be shut down.

  32. Wish I had read the reviews first. Unreliable and unhelpful scam of a company. Avoid at all costs.

  33. 1.25
    Reliability
    10
    Shipping
    10
    Customer Service
    10
    Hidden Fees
    80
    Prices
    30
    Item Selection
    10

    Covid or non covid this seems to be that mini in the box is just another site to scam people. If they say that they are legit then they are really Unrealiable and scam your money. Never again to chinese products.

    + PROS: No pros.
    - CONS: Never trust chinese products and company.
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  34. Scam scam scam

  35. 0.5
    Reliability
    10
    Shipping
    10
    Customer Service
    10
    Hidden Fees
    10
    Prices
    10
    Item Selection
    10

    Miniinthebox site is a total SCAM!!! You are not able to RETURN any items – they lie about their policy and state that the items where made TO ORDER, when in fact there were ONE SIZE! Never buy from THIESE THIEVES! Waste of money as products are shit!!!

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  36. This company does not have a way to accept the password or even new ones it gave me.
    Never works to let them know about bad merchandise sent me.

    The two watches do not work, have no visible battery and are dead on arrival. The other watch has a long shoe string of beads you have to wrap around wrist and then doesnt fit with the given snap. Looks like a second grader made it .
    they make it impossible to communicate so I can get my money back and there is no correct address to mail it back .I shhould have looked them up for complaints before ordering.

  37. The is a terrible company all around, you are more likely to get spam emails than your item. (No really, you’ll get daily emails that you can’t unsubscribe from)
    Also, Lightinthebox is the same company.

  38. 1.75
    Reliability
    0
    Shipping
    0
    Customer Service
    0
    Hidden Fees
    100
    Prices
    100
    Item Selection
    10

    I am very disappointed, I ordered a fidget cube in April, which is 4-6 MONTHS ago!!! It arrived today which is August 6, 2020. I was so excited to finally receive my package, but when I opened it, it looked like someone used it, and then returned it. Some of the sides are dirty and rusted!
    This is definitely not a new product, and it was a VERY bad purchase.
    I will not be purchasing ANY MORE products from your company, and I will not recommend anyone to buy anything from this company. I rate this company a half star.

    + PROS: it seems like such a nice store, with so many amazing things.
    - CONS: I have waited 6 months for my purchase!!
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  39. Absolutely disgusting product and service

  40. 0.15
    Reliability
    0
    Shipping
    0
    Customer Service
    0
    Hidden Fees
    0
    Prices
    20
    Item Selection
    0

    Total scam and rip off. Don’t use them! I wish I had looked at reviews before I ordered!

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  41. 0.5
    Reliability
    10
    Shipping
    10
    Customer Service
    10
    Hidden Fees
    10
    Prices
    10
    Item Selection
    10

    What an absolute con this shop is, paid £10 for magnetic fidget toy that claimed to be over 200 piece yet it was a tiny block of stuck together magnets that must cost no more than 5p to manufacture- fuming

    + PROS: They havent took more money than the £10 rip off cost
    - CONS: The product is tiny and not what the photo and info described. To take £10 for something that cost less than 5p to make is a scam.
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  42. 0.3
    Reliability
    0
    Shipping
    20
    Customer Service
    20
    Hidden Fees
    0
    Prices
    0
    Item Selection
    0

    No pros

    + PROS: Don’t buy
    - CONS: You get what you pay for
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  43. 0.25
    Reliability
    10
    Shipping
    0
    Customer Service
    0
    Hidden Fees
    0
    Prices
    10
    Item Selection
    10

    mini in the Box is a scam they do not have the item and they just misleading the consumer by opening a Paypal act and Paypal has no protection of payment? by providing a fack tracking No to Paypal the collect your money and no merchandise and no refund they just cheating the consumer

    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  44. well, don scam co. with good pictures but no merchandise and misleading the consumers and cheating is another internet Fraud that PayPal can not protect the customer payment paypal have bad customer service now

  45. Don’t buy from MiniInTheBox. Very very Poor customer service. They don’t refund. Don’t get trap, don’t buy. Seriously don’t buy from here.

  46. Reply
    miss rachel h bowskill
    September 16, 2020 at 2:04 am

    I am taking legal action against this horrible company. These people are thieves. They scam you by taking your money and you don’t get your product. They lie and cheat. They provide nothing but an empty pocket and misery and I refuse to allow this evil set up to thieve any more money from decent people. I am having them shut down. It may take a while.

  47. I should have checked reviews on this place first, now I’m paying for it

  48. Reply
    miss rachel h bowskill
    September 20, 2020 at 1:27 am
    0.8
    Reliability
    0
    Shipping
    0
    Customer Service
    0
    Hidden Fees
    100
    Prices
    0
    Item Selection
    0

    These people need shutting down immediately because they are thieves and scam artist. I am going to email the police in Beijing where they are based working from a warehouse where they made cheap replicas. They take your money and then they ask for more and lie and lie and lie. You don’t get the item half the time sand when you do it’s in disgusting condition and has cost you the earth. They have scammed me out of hundreds of pounds for a wedding dress I never got. I am taking legal action against these scammers so that it does not happen to any one else. PLEASE PLEASE DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY OR LIGHTINTHE BOX AS IT IS THE SAME PLACE AS THEY TRADE UNDER DIFFERENT NAMES. I WANT THEM SHUTTING DOWN.

    + PROS: Zero
    - CONS: Zero. Theft theft theft
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  49. I totally agreed with all the comments
    they have a terrible service and they don’t deliver the good in the end of the day.
    if you buy from them, take into account you just give you money away
    you will not see the product nor you refund
    shame

  50. Scam company! I paid in advance for their product this march (6months ago) and it didin’t arrive yet. Their customer service told me to wait. I dont believe it will ever come.

  51. Thiefs. Only seeking to take your money.

  52. I would like a refund please because my parcel was not delivered and I have been tracking down my parcel and it said it was delivered
    Una Geasley 24/10th /2020

  53. Ordered product beginning August and still haven’t received it
    The company is a joke – don’t order as they seem to tell you your order is going round every country in the world and you still don’t get it. They tell you not to worry- put in a ticket and customer services will sort it.
    Repeat don’t order from them – it’s disgusting service as I don’t think company exists

  54. pidio el 17/10 un desfrace para halloween. la pagina web indico 5-10 dias laborales de entrega. y el email de confirmacion me indico lo mismo. hoy @ 076/11 todvia no he recibido el producto. he hecho reclamaciones pediendo una reembolso pero la empresa me ha dicho que es imposible. ¿la empresa es un fraude?

  55. 0.55
    Reliability
    10
    Shipping
    20
    Customer Service
    10
    Hidden Fees
    10
    Prices
    10
    Item Selection
    10

    The item did not fit, customer service says it is the right item so no refund… Very bad! NEVER BUY HERE!!!

    + PROS: There will be a product sent
    - CONS: It is not what you order, customer service is bad. No refund (or 15% back, to spent in their webshop...)
    Helpful(0) Unhelpful(0)You have already voted this
  56. Absolutely fuming bought a jacket on the 27th. Strangely I was also signed up to a saving on line company the same day and they have taken £15 from my account and having a hassle to get it back.

Leave a reply

Your total score

*